What is the fastest flight in the world?

According to Federation Aeronautique Internationale the fastest flight recorded occurred on Novemeber 14, 1981, when Major General Joe H. Engle boldly piloted the Space Shuttle Columbia into space. He attained an airspeed of 17,500 miles per hour. Imagine that!