What happened in nineteen seventy nine?

Major News Stories In 1979 include: Three Mile island Nuclear Accident, China institutes the one child per family rule, USSR Invades Afghanistan For the first time in history a woman, Margaret Thatcher is elected Prime minister in the UK. As technology becomes smaller Sony released the Walkman.