What happened on june nineteen?

Juneteenth commemorates a Union army general announcing federal orders in Galveston, Texas, on June 19, 1865, proclaiming that all slaves in Texas were free. All slaves were legally freed more than two years earlier, but Texas didn't begin to widely enforce freedom until this date.