When was the squishy invented?

Most squishies are made out of Polyurethane. Polyurethan was invented by a German named Otto Bayer in 1937. Early use goes back to World War II airplane coatings. It is commonly used in cars today.

---

ORIGINATING IN JAPAN, squishies became available in the US in the spring of 2017. SQUISHY HISTORY PER WIKIPEDIA: Squishy is RECENT MEMBER of more general class of mindless manipulation toys, like stress balls &fidget spinners. Genre MAY BE SEEN AS VERY OLD, including e.g. 16th century cup&balltoy.