What's the study of whales called?

The study of whales is called cetology. To become a cetologist, one needs a bachelor's degree, and preferably a master's or doctoral degree in zoology, or wildlife biology, with a specialization in cetology.

---

Those that study whales are called marine biologist, or a cetologist. A cetologist is a marine biologist, but specializes in the study of whales, dolphins, and porpoises.