What is the purpose of a turkey's waddell?

A bird's wattle, like its comb, can help to dissipate heat. The thin protuberances that hang down from a turkey's lower jaw allow for the rapid transfer of heat across the skin. Birds don't have any sweat glands, and most of their bodies are covered with a thick and well-insulating coat of feathers.