What year did tickle me elmo come out?

Tickle Me Elmo was released in July 1996. New "Tickle Me" toys based on other characters from Sesame Street were later released – Tickle Me Ernie, Tickle Me Big Bird, and Tickle Me Cookie Monster, but none of these toys achieved as much fame as Tickle Me Elmo. Uh-ha-ha-ha-hee-hee