When did tech mobile come out?

April 3, 1973, from a Manhattan street corner 6th Ave. between 53rd and 54th Motorola’s Martin Cooper placed the world’s first mobile phone call. To his rival, no less.Cooper called Joel Engel from Bell Systems to tell him that the race to perfect cellular tech was over Motorola had done it first.