Do mosquitoes sting or bite?

Mosquitoes do not bite or sting but bite is used for convenience. It is only the female that bites because only the female mosquito that needs protein for its eggs. She uses the sharp tip of her straw-like mouth to pierce a the skin. It locates the blood vessel and draws blood up through its mouth.