What is a green egg?

A Big Green Egg is a brand of kamado style barbeque grill with a green egg-like shape and thick ceramic or clay walls that tightly seal and have controlled air flow to allow the creation of a unique charcoal grilling environment, when compared with other types of barbeque grills.