What is aver phrase?

Commonly used by attorneys in courtrooms, Aver means to state positively as fact, or "assert as true". In the TV show Perry Mason, his clients aver that they are innocent, If you make such a statement while under oath, and it turns out that you lied, you may have committed the crime of perjury