What is a baggy wrinkle?

Baggywrinkle is a soft covering for cables to reduce sail chafe. There are many points in the rig of a large sailing ship where the sails come into contact with the standing rigging; unprotected sails would develop holes at the points of contact. Baggywrinkle provides a softer surface for the sail.