Who is james from thomas the train?

The Thomas the Tank Engine Wiki says James is a vain, but well-meaning & hard-working tender engine on the mainline of the North Western Railway. Actor Kerry Shale provided James' voice in the US until 2015 & actor Keith Wickham voiced James in the UK until 2017. Both were replaced by Rob Rackstraw.