What is a cameo stone?

Ancient and Renaissance Cameos were made from semi-precious gemstones, especially the various types of onyx and agate and any other stones with a flat plane where two contrasting colours meet; these are hardstone cameos. In cheaper modern work, shell and glass are more common.