How does a instapot work?

Instant pots used to be called pressure cookers. The principle is the same, close the vessel tightly enough that heat creates steam pressure. The pressure forces the heat into the food, thereby cooking foods much faster than normal heat. Too much pressure will be released through a safety vent.