Why is pepper called pepper?

The word "pepper" is from the Old English word piper, pipor, of West Germanic origin; related to Dutch peper and German Pfeffer ; via Latin from Greek peperi, from Sanskrit pippalī meaning ‘berry, or peppercorn’.