Why do dalmatians ride on fire trucks?

Dalmatians were kept as station mascots by firefighters in the past when horse-drawn wagons were used as fire engines. The Dalmatians were trained to run in front of the wagon, barking at bystanders, so they would know the fire brigade would soon be coming by and to move quickly aside.