Why do most dogs have brown eyes?

Brown is the most common eye color in dogs. When there's a major increase in melanin, it produces different shades of neutral browns. Higher levels of melanin make eyes darker. Because dogs genetics carry the high melanin levels so well many dog breeds display brown eyes including most mixed breeds.