What is the world's biggest hurricane?

The deadliest Hurricane to hit the United States was the great Galveston Hurricane of September 8, 1900, a category 4 with a storm surge of 8-15 feet paired with a complete lack of warning, which resulted in the highest death toll in history estimated at between 8000 and 15000 people.