How do you eat a fortune cookie?

Open the plastic wrapper and remove the cookie. Break the cookie roughly in half, and remove the paper slip from the cookie, but do not read the fortune. Eat the cookie. Finally, read the fortune silently to yourself. If others want to know your fortune, pass the paper to them to read silently.