Why is neptune blue?

Neptune's atmosphere is made up predominately of hydrogen and helium, with some methane. The methane is part of what gives Neptune its brilliant blue tint, as it absorbs red light and reflects bluer colors.

---

According to NASA, Neptune is blue due to the methane in the atmosphere, although they suspect an unknown component causes the intensity of the color.