How did popsicles get their name?

Frank Epperson discovered the popsicle when he left soda and a stir stick outdoors in freezing weather. When he tried to sell them, he called them Epsicle, combining his name with icecicle. But his children, who loved them called them after him, Pop’s cicles, and that is the name that stuck.