What is the name of a baby befor birth?

The name of a baby immediately prior to birth, a baby is called a fetus. The first stage of development is the embryo which grows in size and complexity. Once there are defined features, the baby becomes a fetus. Doctors do not agree on the exact timing of when this change takes place.