Did james garner serve in the military?

James Garner served in the U.S Merchant Marine and in the California Army National Guard. He was stationed in Korea as a rifleman in the 5th Regimental Combat Team of the 24th Infantry Division. He received two Purple Hearts for wounds received during the Korean Conflict.