What's the difference between a beet and a radish?

A beet is larger and purple all the way through, and is usually cooked. Its juice usually stains. A radish is smaller, magenta outside and white inside with a sharp flavor, usually eaten raw. Each tastes very different. Radishes can also be longer, carrot-shaped with a white skin.