What is x. f. l. football stand for?

Announced by Vince McMahon in1999, it was thought the XFL stood for "Xtreme Football League" based on the league's ties to the WWE at the time. McMahon clarified that this was not the case. While the F and L obviously stand for football league, there is no true meaning for the "X".