What is the velocity of the internet?

Data transmission speeds over the Internet vary depending on the transmission medium. Coaxial cable has a rate of 10 megabits per second. Cat 5e Ethernet cable supports speeds up to 1 gigabits per second. The fastest fiber optic networks today support speeds up to 10 gigabits per second.