Why do we put milk in scrambled eggs?

According to Cook's Illustrated, the fat in milk or cream will actually separate the protein strands from the eggs, resulting in fluffier eggs. And fats give a smooth taste to food that you can feel on your tongue. Scrambled eggs without dairy fat in them are very, very easy to overcook.