What's the next size down from quarter inch?

On a standard measurement device, one inch intervals are divided into 16 discrete units, and each unit is 1/16th of an inch. One fourth, or a quarter, of an inch is 4/16th of an inch. Therefore, the next smallest unit is 3/16th of an inch.