What's the difference between cocoa powder and cacao powder?

The main difference is heat. Both start as fermented cacao beans. Cocoa powder is made from roasting the beans prior to pulverizing, while cacao has not been roasted. The unroasted cacao powder has a higher nutritional content and is more bitter. It is a popular supplement in vegan diets.