What is the definition of citizen?

Noun. A circa 12th CE Anglo-saxon word "sitisein" origin, meaning "inhabitant of a city or town" in city - state times of medieval Europe. Later, nation - state times, Anglo-French "citizein" morphed meaning to "inhabitant of a specific country, or member of a specific nation or state" used today.