Why is there a north carolina and south carolina?

1710, after 2 years of the Carolina territory living virtually ungoverned, the Proprietors appointed Edward Hyde as the governor of North Carolina, rather than the government of Carolina. 1729, North & South Carolina were officially recognized as separate royal colonies until the Revolutionary War.