How do you know when pasta is done cooking?

The easiest & most reliable way is to taste a piece. Normally, pasta should be tender all the way through & a bit firm to the bite. If it is too gummy it is probably over cooked. If it is too firm or crunchy, it is under cooked and needs more time in the pot