What is the purpose of fleas?

They help dead things rot and enrich the soil. Flea larvae emerge from the eggs to feed on any available organic material such as dead insects, feces, and vegetable matter. Adult fleas also spread parasites which is important in regulating the breeding frequency of some mammals.