Why is coffee called a cup of gel?

The origin of “Cup of Joe” goes back to the early 1900s and Admiral Josephus Daniels, Secretary of the Navy during the Wilson administration. During World War I at the time, he outlawed alcohol on ships which lead to coffee becoming the favorite beverage of naval crews. Hence the name “Cup of Joe.”