How do you control a horse in minecraft?

You must first put a saddle on the horse from your inventory. To mount the horse, it's different in different versions. For Java, right click on the horse. For Pocket Edition, you move a pointer over the horse and press the Mount button. For Xbox, press the LT button. For PS, press the L2 button.