How many phobias are in the world?

A 1998 survey of more than 8,000 respondents published in the British Journal of Psychiatry found that some of the most common phobias include: acrophobia, fear of heights. aerophobia, fear of flying. arachnophobia, fear of spiders. astraphobia, fear of thunder and lightning.