What's the difference between a psychiatrist and a therapist?

Psychiatrists are medical doctors, therapists are not. Psychiatrists prescribe medication, therapists can't. Psychiatrists diagnose illness, manage treatment and provide a range of therapies for complex and serious mental illnesses. Therapists provide psychotherapy (talk therapy) to help patients.