How many airplanes crash in a year?

The ASN recorded a total of 15 fatal airliner accidents in 2018, leading to 556 deaths, compared with 10 accidents and 44 lives lost in 2017, the safest year in aviation history. Of those accidents, 12 involved passenger flights and three were cargo flights, the ASN report said.