Why is maryland called maryland?

There are two possible reasons why Maryland was called Maryland. The first reason is that the wife of the proprietor who charted Maryland was Maria Henrietta and he named it after her. The second is due to Maryland being a very catholic colony, they may have named it in honor of the Virgin Mary.

---

After Queen Mary