Why does kobe bryant have two numbers eight and twenty four?

Mid way through his career, Kobe Bryant switched to number 24, the number he had when he played in high school.

---

Bryant said ""When I first came in at 8, its really trying to 'plant your flag' sort of thing. I got to prove that I belong here in this league. . . ... Then 24 is a growth from that. Physical attributes aren't there the way they used to be, but the maturity level is greater."