How do you parboil cauliflower?

Bring water to a boil and add the cauliflower pieces. Allow the water to return to a boil and gently boil for 3 to 5 minutes. When parboiled to desired doneness, remove the cauliflower from the boiling water with a slotted spoon and place in ice water to stop the cooking action.