When were tomatoes introduced to italy?

It's believed the first tomatoes to make it to Europe were brought by the Spanish Conquistadors from South America (Peru, specifically) in the early to mid-sixteenth century. The fruit was called “tomatl.” The first written account of a tomato in Italy dates to 1548 and it was in Tuscany.