What year was thanksgiving declared a holiday?

1789, 1st national Thanksgiving Day proclaimed by President George Washington. 1863 Abraham Lincoln declared the last Thursday in November should be celebrated as Thanksgiving. It was made an official federal holiday & moved to the 4th Thursday of November in 1941 by President Franklin Roosevelt.