When did the soviet union begin?

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics was founded in November 1917 by the Bolshevik Party.

---

December 30, 1922, although technically it may be said to have its origins in the Bolshevik revolutionaries seizure of control of the Russian provisional government in October 1917 and the establishment of the Russian Soviet Republic shortly thereafter.