Who invented the m. one grand?

The M1 Garand rifle was named after its Canadian-American designer, John Garand. It was the first standard-issue semi-automatic military rifle. When it was the issue rifle in the U.S. Army and the U.S. Marine Corps It was "U.S. Rifle, Caliber .30, M1" or just "M1" and Garand was not mentioned.