Is there a black sheep?

A black fleece is caused by a recessive gene, so if a white ram and white ewe are each heterozygous for black, in about 25% of cases they will produce a black lamb. In fact in most white sheep breeds, only a few white sheep are heterozygous for black, so black lambs are usually much rarer than this.