When was the first communication satellite launched?

On July 10, 1962, a beach-ball sized satellite, named the Telstar 1, was launched by NASA and sparked a new era of electronic communications. The mission was a cooperative effort between AT&T and NASA to demonstrate the feasibility of transmitting information via satellite.