Why do sloths move slowly?

Short answer: Because they can. A bit longer: there aren't any other creatures filling their niche (eating leaves and buds of trees such as the cecropia), and their food provides a minimal amount of energy, so moving slowly is actually the most efficient and effective way for them to live.