How was phones made?

The telephone emerged from the making & successive improvements of the electrical telegraph. Spanish polymath & scientist Francisco Salva Campillo constructed an electrochemical telegraph. The 1stworking telegraph was built by the English inventor Francis Ronalds in 1816 & used static electricity.